Situated in what is known as the Green Kalahari region, the picturesque town of Keimoes lies just 40 km southwest of Upington and 40 km northwest from Kakamas on the N14. The name "Keimoes" is generally accepted to mean "Big Eye" and several tales exist which attempts an explination. One such tale refers to a permanent fountain situated near the original Roman Catholic Mission station. The most widely accepted explination however, refers to the clear vantage point from the heights of Tierberg, which would have served as a good look-out spot.
Many tourists travel through Keimoes en-route between Gauteng and Cape Town. They see Tierberg and the Water Wheel. Little do they realize that this lush green town in the semi desert consists of more than 120 islands – with people actually living on most of them! Keimoes boasts a rich history.
When one uses your imagination, it is easy to picture the Korana chiefs, Klaas Lukas and Piet Rooi, who used to hide with up to 10 000 stolen livestock on the island maze in the 19th century. That explains the name of one of the koppies – Loerberg. Directly translated this means “Mountain from where one can peep”.
The first of the characteristic water channels was completed in 1883. These led to the rapid growth of the settlement. Wheat was grown and the first school opened in 1887. The Mission Church as well as a mill was completed in 1889.
Today Keimoes is a prime source of table grapes exported to Europe and agriculture is the main economic driver in the region.